Final Staff Suggestions for Invitees to Experts Conference

February 6, 1998

The following is the staff's final suggestion for invitees to the Experts Conference. Two persons have already accepted invitations. The list below suggests that fourteen additional persons be invited, and includes eight names as suggested alternates. We presume that not everyone invited will attend. The list was formulated with regard to several factors, including: Board member recommendations, staff experience, Page Miller's recommendations, and the cost of transportation of the potential invitees to Washington.

ACCEPTED

David Garrow

Law School Emory University

Page Putnam Miller

Director
National Coordinating Committee
for the Promotion of History

TO BE INVITED ("A" = alternative invitee)

HISTORIANS-ACADEMICS

Ernest May

Kennedy School of Government Harvard University

Stan Katz

Woodrow Wilson School

Melvin Leffler

University of Virginia

A Dr. Athan Theoharis

Department of History Marquette University

A John L. Gaddis

Yale University

A Anne Van Camp

Research Libraries Group

PRESS-MEDIA

Evan Thomas

Newsweek Magazine

A Max Holland

Journalist

A George Lardner

Washington Post

PUBLIC AND FOIA EXPERTS

Steve Aftergood

Federation of American Scientists

Kate Martin

General Counsel National Security Archive

Mort Halpern

20th Century Fund

GOVERNMENT

CIA

Britt Snyder

(former Executive Director of Moynihan Commission; Executive Director SSCI) Inspector General (nominated) Central Intelligence Agency

A John Pereira

Chief

Historical Review Program
Office of Information Management
Central Intelligence Agency

NARA

Mary Ronan

FOIA and Privacy Act Officer National Archives & Records Administration

A David A. Langbart

Military Appraisal Staff
National Archives & Records Administration

A Steven D. Tilley

JFK Collection
National Archives & Records Administration

Other Government

Bill Leary

National Security Council

Steve Garfinkle

Executive Director Information Security Oversight Office

Roslyn Mazur

Special Counsel for Intellectual Property
Criminal Divison
Associate Deputy Attorney General
Chair, Interagency Security Classification Appeals Panel
Department of Justice

Sheryl Walter

Deputy Special Counsel Special Investigations Unit on Persian War Illnesses Senate Veterans Affairs Committee

Mike Loftumbo

Moynihan Senate Staffer

A David Wiener

International Relations Committee U.S. House of Representatives