Suggestions for Invitees to ARRB's April 14, 1998 Experts Conference February 4, 1998

An "x" designates individuals whom the staff believes at this point would be particularly beneficial to have attend.

HISTORIANS-ACADEMICS

x David Garrow

Law School Emory University

x Dr. Ernest May

Kennedy School of Government Harvard University

Stan Katz

Woodrow Wilson School

Dr. Thomas Paterson

Department of History University of Connecticut

Dr. Athan Theoharis

Department of History Marquette University

Dr. William E. Leuchtenberg

Department of History
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Melvin Leffler

University of Virginia

John L. Gaddis

Yale University

Lloyd Gardner

Rutgers (New Brunswick)

Anne Van Camp

The University of Michigan The Bentley Library

Accepted invitation

PRESS-MEDIA

Max Holland

Journalist

x Evan Thomas

Newsweek Magazine

Tim Weiner

New York Times

George Lardner

Washington Post

PUBLIC AND FOIA EXPERTS

x Page Putnam Miller

Director

National Coordinating Committee for the Promotion of History

Steve Aftergood

Federation of American Scientists

Kate Martin

General Counsel National Security Archive

Carol Henderson

Director, ALA Washington Office American Library Association

Phillip Cantalon

History Associates

GOVERNMENT

CIA

x Britt Snyder

(former Executive Director of Moynihan Commission; Executive Director SSCI) Inspector General (nominated) Central Intelligence Agency

Accepted invitation

John Pereira

Chief
Historical Review Program
Office of Information Management
Central Intelligence Agency

NARA

x Mary Ronan

FOIA and Privacy Act Officer
National Archives & Records Administration

David A. Langbart

Military Appraisal Staff
National Archives & Records Administration

Other

x Bill Leary

National Security Council

x Steve Garfinkle

Executive Director Information Security Oversight Office

x Roslyn Mazur

Special Counsel for Intellectual Property Criminal Divison Associate Deputy Attorney General Chair, Interagency Security Classification Appeals Panel Department of Justice

x Mort Halpern

20th Century Fund

Sheryl Walter

Deputy Special Counsel
Special Investigations Unit on Persian War Illnesses
Senate Veterans Affairs Committee

Mike Loftumbo

Moynihan Senate Staffer

David Wiener

International Relations Committee (Cong. Hamilton's representative) U.S. House of Representatives

Edmund J. McBride

Joint Staff
Department of Defense

Bill Slaney

Historians Office State Department