## NOTICE OF ASSASSINATION RECORD DESIGNATION

Designation: The following United States Secret Service materials are designated assassination records: "United States Secret Service: The Evolution of Its Protective Policies, Practices and Procedures (1932 to 1973);" "Report of Investigation by Inspector Arvid J. Dahlquist [on Abraham Bolden];" computer printouts on Richard Albert Lauchli, Perry Russo, John Edward Pic, George DeMohrenschildt, Jeanne DeMohrenschildt, Michael Ralph Paine, Ruth Hyde Paine, Mark Lane, President John Fitzgerald Kennedy, Jack Leon Ruby, Marguerite Cleaverie Oswald, Marina Nikolaevna Porter, and Robert Lee Oswald Jr.; and internal memorandums from Chief James J. Rowley dated November 1963 through December 1964.

<u>Discussion</u>: On November 14, 1996, the Assassination Records Review Board designated the above listed materials assassination records pursuant to § 7(i)(2)(A) and 9(c)(1)(A) of the President John F. Kennedy Assassination Records Collection Act ("the JFK Act") and § 1400.1 and § 1400.8 of the Guidance for Interpretation and Implementation of the JFK Act. 36 C.F.R. § 1400 (1995). In not designating some internal memorandums and case file information as assassination records, the Review Board relied upon the advice of its staff, which conducted a thorough review of materials in the above listed categories.

File 4.5.5