## ASSASSINATION RECORDS REVIEW BOARD MINUTES July 21, 1998 OPEN BOARD MEETING WASHINGTON, D. C.

The meeting was called to order by Chair John Tunheim at 10:45 a.m.

Participants in the meeting were Board Members Henry F. Graff, Kermit L. Hall, William L. Joyce, Anna K. Nelson, and John R. Tunheim; and Assassination Records Review Board staff members T. Jeremy Gunn and Laura Denk.

A motion was made by Dr. Graff to accept the minutes of the July 8, 1998 Open Meeting. The motion was seconded by Dr. Nelson and carried by a vote of 5-0.

Judge Tunheim announced that Dr. Gunn has accepted an Executive Fellowship at the U.S. Institute of Peace and his resignation is effective July 24, 1998.

Dr. Graff offered as a motion the attached resolution commending Dr. Gunn for his service to the Review Board. The motion was seconded by Dr. Joyce and carried 5-0.

Dr. Joyce then proposed the following appointments and his motion was seconded by Dr. Nelson: Executive Director, Laura Denk; Deputy Director, Tracy Shycoff; General Counsel; Ronald G. Haron; FBI Team Leader; Kevin Tiernan. Judge Tunheim and Dr. Gunn stated that Michelle Combs has done outstanding work as Associate Director for Research and Review and will continue in that position. The motion carried 5-0.

The Final Report and the timetable for drafts of various chapters was discussed, with particular attention to Chapter 4 and Ms. Denk's overview of this chapter. The final draft of the Report is due September 15.

Dr. Joyce's motion to close the August 6, 1998 meeting was seconded by Dr. Nelson and carried 5-0.

There being no further business to come before the Board in an open meeting, Dr. Hall's motion to adjourn was seconded by Dr. Joyce, and carried by a 5-0 vote. The meeting adjourned at 11:45 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Jerrie Olson