The Assassination Records Review Board

The Assassination Records Review Board is an independent federal panel created to oversee the identification and release of all records related to the assassination of President John F. Kennedy.

The Review Board was established by The President John F. Kennedy Assassination Records Collection Act of 1992 (PL 102-526), signed into law by President Bush on October 26, 1992. The five members of the Board were appointed by President Clinton, confirmed by the United States Senate, and sworn in on April 11, 1994.

Under the law, the Assassination Records Review Board is provided with the mandate and the authority to identify and secure all records relevant to the assassination of President Kennedy. It is the responsibility of the Board to determine which records are to be made public immediately and which ones will have postponed release dates.

The Assassination Records Review Board consists of the following members:

- 1. John R. Tunheim, Chair. Chief Deputy Attorney General in the State of Minnesota.
- 2. Dr. Henry F. Graff. Professor Emeritus of History at Columbia University.
- 3. Dr. Kermit L. Hall. Dean of the College of Humanities at Ohio State University.
- 4. Dr. William L. Joyce. Associate Librarian and Archivist at Princeton University.
- 5. Dr. Anna K. Nelson. Professor of History at American University.

The Board has until October 1, 1996 to fulfill its mandate, plus an additional year at the Board's discretion to complete its responsibilities.